Finding my style: A-line tops

This post is part of a personal blog project to Find My Style. Please read the first post for an overview of what I’m trying to do and what kinds of comments I’d like. Thanks.

Until I started taking these photos I don’t think I’d given much thought to the A-line shape for tops. My instinct would be to stay that an A-line would obscure my shape. But then I took these photos and looked more closely at stuff I own and like.

purple topThis is a top I picked up at Eddie Bauer last year. It’s a nice crinkly light fabric with an interesting detail around the neckline. If you click for the bigger photo you can see it clearly.

Looking at that photo I see that my waist is visible. And yet this is an A-line. Interesting.

I think this shape also helps with the fact that my hips are larger than my bust. It means that a top that fits well in the bust isn’t too tight at the hips, which is always a good thing.

The length is similar to the blue top and I like it. Sleeveless is definitely better than cap sleeves, making me think I could just take the cap sleeves off that blue top. I have the sewing skills for that, after all.

I like the depth of the scoop neck. And I notice that the collar detail works similarly to the gathering on the other top to separate my boobs. Avoiding mono-boob is high on my list of style points.

7 thoughts on “Finding my style: A-line tops

  1. Agree – think the slight cling of the crinkle works well to show the shape you are while not being tight fitting and hence less comfortable.
    And of course the colour looks good on you. You look happy in it which of course helps the overall look but not the dispassionate nature of the observation!

    Like

  2. Jo,
    I really like this top on you. The colour suits you and the shaping is really flattering. I agree with you about the sleeveless vs. cap sleeves on blue top. Personally, cap sleeves look crappy on me – they look better on you for sure. I find something about the top balances your boobs/hips nicely.

    Like

  3. The scoop neck and the A-line balance each other nicely, and again, the A-line flows smoothly down to the hips, which serves to balance your top and bottom, since the neck draws a bit of attention to the bust. You know, this is harder than I thought it would be, not saying anything complimentary…The detail at the neck works well, too, without being too fluffy.

    Like

  4. I think A line gets an A for you! Looks comfortable and flattering.

    If you are sewing, and concerned about your waist getting lost, you can always add darts to keep the overall A line shape while keeping the waist defined.

    I like the length on you too. I don’t know if you are totally not into dresses or not, but it makes me wonder about an A line short dress with tights (which I find super comfy).

    Like

  5. I’m a fan of this one. That is my absolute favorite color. I think you’re right about the a-line. It creates a nice curve between bust and hips. The sleeveless seems to give your shoulders a little more width. You’re not excessively narrow there, but widening them gives a nice balance with your hips. As I said, I’m very picky about ornamentation, but that top has basically the right amount for me–just enough to make it interesting but still subtle.

    Like

  6. But in terms of a style what do you think about these tops? I think you are commenting on how the sleeves in the other one hit your arms which may be about something else. I think the length is wrong because it creates a visual cut off point at your widest point so your style here looks like a triangle. What would your style look like if you went with a longer tunic shape (sleeveless button down or whatever) over a different sort of pant or legging? The top here wants to be worn with walking shorts. I loathe floral anything as a style and am generally drawn to geometric shapes in the actual cut of clothes which means European made. Style is about putting together an outfit that creates a sort of look. I’m struggling with what mine is too because I don’t feel comfortable in what I used to wear in my 30s and early 40s. This is hard! šŸ™‚

    Like

  7. Thanks this is helpful. As I’ve taken these pics (and there are lots more I haven’t posted) I find myself drawn to this length. I know it goes against the “rules” to have the hem fall at my widest point but I much prefer that to shorter (and don’t have much longer).

    That said, Cate’s point about the shoulders is helpful. I have never thought of myself as having narrow shoulders. (I used to be a prop forward on a rugby team!) However, in relation to my hips they are narrow. And my experience making a top (see next post) suggests that maybe I do and need to proceed with that in mind.

    Also, I recently tried on a couple of tops in the same shop where I bought this one and found that their Large fits but not if it’s made of woven material. My hips need the XL, but then the top fits much more loosely. In a t-shirt that difference is not a problem and I really noticed the difference in fit between the L and XL. (The L pulls a little bit between my breasts but fits well across the back and shoulders. This I can fix if making my own.)

    Like

Leave a Reply

