Quilting WIPs roundup

This post is as much for me as for anyone else. I figured an inventory of Work In Progress might be in order…

Scrappy Trip Around The World

I’ve blogged about this before: When I started it, and part way through.

I have the main part of the top all pieced and some pieced borders.

I know how much fabric I need for some solid borders, backing and binding.

Next steps: Buy fabric for borders and backing. Figure out whether I need to buy batting or have some lying around.

Farm print placemats

I’ve never blogged about these. I’ve picked up various farm themed fabrics in the sale bin at local stores. Some of those prints (like the pigs) have been in my stash for much longer — picked up at quilt fairs in the UK before Freya was born and long before I ever imagined having a farm.

I designed 2 different layouts using a mix of 8″, 4″, and 2″ (finished) squares, and mixing in some coordinating solids from my stash of scraps.
I’m not sure how much I like these but I suspect they will grow on me. Or, as Andrea says, someone else will like them.

I have 6 placemats pieced. Clicking on the photo will take you to the Flickr group for the whole set.

Next steps: Buy backing and binding fabric. I know I have batting that can be used for this in the cupboard.

Egyptian Print lap quilt

I mentioned this in a post about piles of fabric I had lying around.

Pieced parts of this are done. I have also calculated how much fabric I need for the solid strips, backing and binding.

Next steps: Buy fabric. Make a pieced strip for the back.

Pandora’s box

Pandora's Box quilt-top with bordersThis has been around for a while. I’ve written about the main part of the topthe finished top, and the back before.

I have a top and a back for this. I also have wool batting made from my own sheep in a box around here.

Next steps: Sandwich and baste. Decide how to quilt.

30s prints Floral Bouquet

This was started so long ago I don’t think I’ve ever blogged about it. I did mention it in a new year post in January 2012 so it was started before then.

This is made from a jelly roll of 30s prints and the saved linen/cotton white on white fabric from a duvet cover (the underside of which wore through). I’m using the Floral Bouquet pattern in Pam and Nicky Lintott’s Jelly Roll Quilts book.

I have pieces cut and started the piecing. Not sure if some bits have been knocked off the table by the cat and got lost under things but working on the assumption that I would have found them in recent tidying.

Next steps: More piecing.

Related posts:

Quilt Dreams (on the quilts I’m sort of thinking about based on fabric I have lying around the place)

2 thoughts on “Quilting WIPs roundup

  1. Love the farm prints (of course!), and the Egyptian squares are lovely. That turquoise in there is amazing, and then of course there is the cat (how appropriate) surveying its domain.

    That is QUITE a bit of work in progress : ) .

    Like

  2. Pingback: quilting with wool batting | Tricotomania and more

Leave a Reply

