Rhinebeck 2012

It's Monday morning and I'm still in Rhinebeck. The sun is shining. It is almost too warm for a sweater if you are in the sun.

This is the first year I've stayed this long. I'm so glad I did. This has been more than just the NY Sheep and Wool Festival. It has been a long weekend away with friends. We've eaten some fantastic meals, drunk some great wine, and talked about … well lots of things.

Note: although I remembered to bring my camera and this thing (the iPad) has a camera, my camnesia is still severe and chronic and no photos were taken at the fairground.

I managed to meet up with long time online homeschooling friend, Angela, on Saturday at the fairgrounds. We ate lamb barbecue at the 4H stand and chatted. It is sooooo nice to meet people in person that you have known for so long. However, the fair was sooooo busy on Saturday I didn't run into other people I would have liked to have seen. I did drop in on Mel and David and also took Angela to their booth to buy some of their lovely natural coloured alpaca yarn.

I brought a shopping list for yarn with the requirements for specific projects. I got some bulky yarn from Briar Rose to make a Banff to go with the new purple cords. Some grey Shepherd's worsted to make a cabled cardigan, just because I fancy knitting some cables and seem to lack a good neutral cardigan, and some gorgeous red DK weight BFL yarn from Miss Babs to make a sweater that's just a little bit dressy so I can wear it when I need to look professional.

Now I'm sitting in the house we rented for the weekend writing this post on my new iPad keyboard before heading off to meet a former client for lunch and then heading back home.

Leave a Reply

