Pandora’s box quilt back

I have been keen to keep moving on the Pandora’s Box quilt. I like it a lot.

The quilt itself is wider than the standard width of fabric. This is normal. The way to deal with it is to use a couple of widths and put a seam on the back somewhere.

I have been inspired by some of the quilts on Oh Fransson! She often uses leftovers from the front of the quilt on the back.

When cutting the 4-patch squares for the fronts, there was often an extra 2-patch in each colour combo, and maybe even another narrower strip. I figured this little pile could become something that would add some interest to the back instead of just having a seam.

I sewed one big long strip mixing up the narrower strips in with the 2″ ones. I then cut 1.5″ strips of the binding fabric (I have lots of extra) and sewed a border.

My plan was to make an off-centre T on the back of the quilt. My strip was just long enough.

The vertical pattern to the main backing fabric accentuates effect since it runs horizontally across the top and vertically down the bottom portion.

I really like the look of this.

The next step is to go buy some batting, make the sandwich, and quilt. Then I can bind it in that green jungle print.

 

Leave a Reply

