Let’s try this again, shall we?

I’ve been missing you lately. Recently caught back up with Steph at Confessions of an Erratic Homeschooling Mom (I like “erratic” much better than eclectic, too, Steph) and was pleasantly surprised at how excited I was she linked to Willa today. She had drifted through my thoughts recently (probably prompted by a fridge magnet she sent years ago) and it was so nice to find her blog again, especially since she’d recently done a catch up post on her older kids.

I’ve managed to keep in touch with Becky at Farm School despite her long dry spells during her recent difficult year but that was helped by an actual in person visit in June 2010. Prairie Poppins has also stayed in my reader. I’m actually happy to have those 2 along for the ride as our girls head into high school at home.

And Andrea. I keep up with Andrea but mostly because we both hang out on Twitter all day and I get her Flickr updates e-mailed to me so I can see her fantastic quilts. And I visit her when I have an opportunity to be down her way. If you want to hang out with me on Twitter I’m @jovanevery. I’m also on Google+ though I haven’t been over there much recently.

I’ve been really focused on the business blog and, you know, doing that work. But that doesn’t mean I don’t have things to say here. I just need to make more time to actually say them. I’m going to treat this as part of my aim to spend more time actually doing stuff with Freya this year instead of vaguely planning, letting her get on with it, and then having a meltdown about whatever she didn’t get on with.

Lofty goals. I know.

To begin, I have installed a widget over there in the sidebar (click through if you are in a reader) to show you my latest photos. I still suffer from a pretty bad case of camnesia but I’m recovering slowly. You can also add me as a contact on Flickr.

Here’s a brief summary of what’s new in these parts:

Sheep

3 Shetland Sheep

Elvis & Fred

2 dogs (the little one is much bigger now)

Many chickens, though I seem to lose some to a hungry fox every spring. I currently have 1 brown hen (bought as a ready-to-lay from the feed store in September 2010), 2 barred plymouth rock hens (raised from chicks in 2010), 3 buff orpington hens (raised from chicks 2011), 2 gold-laced wyandotte hens (raised from chicks 2011), 6 welsommer hens (purchased as young pullets summer 2011). Only the 3 older ones are laying at the moment but I think the others should start in the next few week.

I also have 12 roosters (8 gold laced wyandottes and 4 buff orpingtons) down from 16. 1 was slaughtered early because he was a bully and had evidently scared at least 2 others into not coming into safety at night. 3 just went missing.

Most of these will be eaten though the prettiest one we plan to put in with the hens for a bit of bodyguard work when they free range. I’ll try to get a photo of that one. He is pretty fantastic. We’ve named him Jack after Johnny Depp’s character in Pirates of the Caribbean.

Lots of knitting (much of it as yet unphotographed). If you are on Ravelry, I am “JoVE” over there. There is also a set in my Flickr. Will try harder with the photos.

Some quilts, including finishing the one I posted about the last time I was here. I backed it in flannelette which the cat wholeheartedly approves of and it gets lots of use (by cats and people) on our sofa. I have the makings of a few more but the craft room needs some serious attention before anything happens.

One teenager. Seriously. One day you have a kid and the next you don’t recognize her at the airport because you mistake her for a university student. I have no idea how that happened but she’s a great kid. And I did bring her home from the airport 🙂

I’m loving the teenager. My friend Mike was wrong. 13 was not a nightmare. For either of us. Freya is a very nice young woman. Yes we argue. Often about stuff she doesn’t do that she was supposed to. But mostly, I like it. I’m looking forward to 14 (which is where we are now). To be fair, Mike was teasing me about Freya at 13 back when she was 2.

Okay, that’s enough for now. I’m going to try to update here at least once a week. If you’ve kept my feed in your reader all this time, thank you. If you are new, welcome.

Now I’m off to make another coffee.

4 thoughts on “Let’s try this again, shall we?

  1. JoVE, glad to see you blogging again and to read the update! I agree that teenager years are not as dreadful as reputed. And also that it’s a good time for another cup of coffee ; ).

    Like

  2. hmmm, I see that our reconnecting doesn’t rate…of course I’m not blogging anymore, so maybe that was factor.

    Let me know when you are heading to Chicago!

    Like

  3. Let me say publicly that reconnecting with Meg does rate. A lot. I knew as soon as I started naming names that I’d forget people and that would be bad so anyone else not on the list should not feel bad. Say hello. Seriously. I’ll be so glad to be back in touch.

    Like

Leave a Reply

