UPDATED: From social activism to consumerism

takebacktheday.ca banner #1

We don’t really celebrate Mother’s Day around here. It is one of those days affectionately cynically known as a “Hallmark holiday”. Another excuse for buying cards and whatnot.

Not that no one appreciates me as a mother, because they do. It is more that they don’t buy me cards and flowers and take me out for dinner on this day in particular to show that appreciation.

Interestingly, the origins of Mother’s Day in North America (which is the only place it is celebrated on the 2nd Sunday in May as far as I know) are in things we do believe in strongly in this house: social activism, improved sanitation and health care, and peace activism.

[kml_flashembed movie=”http://www.youtube.com/v/OlGs6wcDaBE” width=”425″ height=”350″/]

The apostrophe got moved. It should be after the s — Mothers’ Day, a day for mothers to work together for social change benefiting our children. Our collective children. Our society. Peace and justice. That kind of thing.

Read more of the history at Take Back the Day.

And listen to the podcast at the Memory Palace (which looks like a great history resource, btw.)

Happy Mothers’ Day.

4 thoughts on “UPDATED: From social activism to consumerism

  1. When I asked Datter if she was familiar with Mother’s Day, she said that they do celebrate it in Denmark – but I never thought to ask on what day they celebrate it.

    If I remember by the time I get home, I’ll try to ask.

    Like

  2. They celebrate it on that day in Australia too.

    I always grew up with the UK version, and my parents said that it wasn’t actually about specific mothers, but about the mother church – I think that people got the day off (from ‘service’) to returnt o their home church. Or something.

    Anyway, no cards from me, sent or expected. I work on the principal that a random bunch of daffs because I feel like it is worth more, anyway!

    Like

Leave a Reply

