great interview on creativity

Today we had the radio on. And we listened to Q with Jian Ghomeshi. They are replaying some best of 2008 stuff (isn’t everyone) and today it was an interview with Lynda Barry. This was so amazing given all the thoughts I’d been having about this lately. Very inspiring. Well worth a listen.

Luckily, the folks at the CBC make Q available as a podcast. You can get today’s episode (including the Lynda Barry interview, which was near the end) here.

Best piece of advice from Lynda: we have to get out of the Is it Good/Does it Suck mindset about our creative process and just value the experience of creating. She connects that to play. And to brain research. Do go listen.

5 thoughts on “great interview on creativity

  1. I heard it too this morning, I even wrote down her name to check out the book she was promoting when they did the interview! Very interesting stuff and highly recommended.

    Like

  2. Yes, I definitely like the Is it Good/Does it Suck mindset realization. Interestingly, maybe that’s why my oldest son, when doing a creative project of any kind, doesn’t want to talk about the idea of “making money” from it. He does it because he wants to do it, not for any other reason, and by bringing up something like money, to him, it devalues his process. Maybe it also brings in the “is it good/does it suck” mentality, and he wants to keep that at bay from his creative outlets.

    Now,the thing I DIDN’T like about what she said, or more, I didn’t like her conclusion, is that she thinks play/creative expression has an anxiety component to it. I don’t see that. Now, when she said that she feels both play and creative outlets are connected to emotional health, then, yes, I totally agree and it goes along with what I talk about with the right-brained learner.

    The connection she didn’t make was there are people who are right-brained learner who HAVE to be connected with a creative outlet, or they only half live, or, in her perspective, it negatively impacts their emotional health. She implies that everyone should be involved with creative outlets for emotional health, and I don’t think that’s necessarily true. I see this emotional health connection to my creative children, but not to me, though I have my own emotional health connection, I’m sure. Maybe I can say that everyone should be connected to their passion/gift in life, and if they don’t, they only half live, and/or it negatively impacts their emotional health. And, for the right-brained learner, their gifts are usually associated with the creative outlets.

    Thanks for the link and sharing!

    Like

  3. There’s a third one, touching on creating things that have a purpose. 🙂 Some people I have found are reluctant to be creative when they can;t see a point to the finished product.

    In the end, it’s more about the process, as we all know. 😉

    Like

  4. Pingback: Learning to Play « Red Sea School

Leave a Reply

