Don’t mention the war

In both the US and Canadian elections this seems to be the major campaign strategy: Don’t mention the war. Argue about lipstick and hairstyles and who is allowed to participate in leader’s debates and puffins. Anything to avoid mentioning the war.

Becky pointed me in the direction of this brilliant article by Jeffrey Goldberg in The Atlantic. Lots of history and a terrifying conclusion. Even more frightening is the fact that John McCain himself thinks that his views on war will not win him this election. He’s not really talking about them. Why are his opponents not talking about them? Pro-Death. That’s what he is. The death of hundreds of thousands of Iraqis and possibly Iranians. And Americans in the process. But are the lives of Iraqis, Iranians, Afghans really worth less than American lives. And is this not worth debating.

At the same time, just before the election was called up here north of the border a study came out showing that most Canadians are not happy with the role our military is playing in Afghanistan. The only mention of the war that has been made so far is Stephen Harper trying to make a statement that will end the possibility of debate. Again, where is the opposition. We have more than 2 parties in this game. Where is the debate?

5 thoughts on “Don’t mention the war

  1. This has been the most frustrating part of discussing politics for me. How can so many forget about the war, and talk only about the economy or abortion (of course, don’t get me started there either!). I truly do not understand how the media is enabling this avoidance of the big issues as well. Creepy!

    Like

  2. I read the article in it’s entirety. Reflecting on what it says, I am not left with a feeling that he is pro-death. I have 2 nephews in the military right now, and based on what I just read, and on what I’ve read on McCain and Obama’s web sites recently, I would trust the soldiers in my family to McCain more. He has a true understanding of war and it’s realities, IMHO. I can’t honestly say Obama does. I feel Obama will do only what’s popular, not necessarily what’s best for all nations involved. My nephew-in-law who served in Iraq during the initial invasion, has told me Americans up and leaving would be the worst possible thing to happen over there. He also pointed out that the media loves to show doom and gloom, but they don’t show all the good the troops are doing. They have helped civilians quite a bit (and not just with clean-up duty from the mess we’ve left), and he said many of those civilians are happy the troops are there. Unfortunetly, wars are often waged in newsprint one sidedly, and we don’t get to see the whole picture.
    On a side note, I honestly didn’t know Canada’s elections were this year, too. You probably hear a lot about us in the States, but no one in our media routinely reports on our neighbors to the north. I only hear what happens up there when I listen to the BBC news on Sirius radio. But even they don’t have much to say about Canada. I guess that reflects my nation’s self-centeredism.

    Like

  3. I was listening to As It Happens (Canadian news show) on the radio last night, and one of the commentators made the sad comment that she had been enjoying the sideshow quality of American politics, but when it started rubbing off on the Canadian media she thought, “Oh, wait, I don’t think I like it so much.”

    It seems even more disheartening than the last presidential election. The level of flat out lying seems at an all time high. To say that your opponent favors teaching kids about sex before they can read imputes a sickness that goes way beyond policy differences. To hear McCain defend that on The View pretty much blew away the last shred of what had been my positive view of him.

    This sums it up:

    As far as the Iraq war goes: either president is going to have a major mess to clean up. Colin Powell’s “you break it, you bought it” was sadly dead on, and whoever wins is going to have to take much more than his own plans into account. It’s the “Bomb Bomb Iran” and Palin’s suggestion that we might need to take on Russia that really have me worried. Do we really have no other strategies for “world leadership” beyond domination by force?

    Like

  4. Yeah, no joke on the clean up duty. But with all that is going on in the world, I can say one thing is for certain: I am glad it’s not me running for office. Any office. What a mess, no matter which side you take. It’s not that I don’t care, because I do. But I have enough to worry about, tending to my own business, let alone being responsible for everyone else’s business, too. And I agree with Shaun’s “domination by force”. It does seem my country likes to butt into everyone else’s problems. Where the heck are all the other NATO members? Why doesn’t Spain go fix some country’s problem’s for once… how about Austrailia? Maybe they can go hash it out with the trouble makers instead. I love politics, really… About as much as I’d love to come down with the plague, or a good case of typhoid. KWIM?

    Like

Leave a Reply

