Beautiful genetic mutations

This morning Tigger pointed out some odd flowers in our garden and I thought I’d share them with you. Our approach to flower gardening is somewhat haphazard and has benefited greatly from donations and things that self-seed. While there is some planning of colours, it hasn’t been that strict. That said, there are a couple of plants that seem to have come out of the blue, so to speak.

First up this one yellow iris in a patch of purple. Apologies for the light, the weather is a bit gloomy today.

yellow iris

Those purple irises came from my neighbour when her daughter-in-law was splitting hers a couple of years ago. I think Mat has now split the clump at least once, too, as we have them in two places in our garden. They are all that purple colour you see in the back (with lighter centres) except this one yellow one. I notice the purple ones do have a bit of yellow on them, so this seems a logical mutation. Quite pretty.

The second is this orange lupine.

orange lupine

Quite a nice colour actually, but I have no idea where it came from. We have planted both pink and purple lupine in the past and each year they self-seed and we just move the seedlings from where they are growing to where we want them (including giving them away to friends). These are the more common colour lupines in our garden.

pink lupinepurple lupine

Yes, those pink ones are in front of the compost. The trellis you can just see (with a round top) is to support a clematis that should hide the bins from view during the summer. I wonder if the orange is a mutation of this pink or if there was some cross pollination between the pink and purple (both are growing quite close together in the front garden).

4 thoughts on “Beautiful genetic mutations

  1. With the lupines it is possible if the pink or purple are hybrids that they will not breed true. The self-seeding could easily lead to all kinds of variation including throwbacks to the parental generations they came from, whatever those were.
    Either way they are neat surprises.

    Like

  2. I have no idea if they are hybrids or not. But those pink and purple ones are not first generation but are the same colour as whatever we bought. That one orange one is the only one of its colour. I’d be happy to have more.

    Like

  3. Our lupins are out now too. They were never a plant I was fond of, until my grandmother died and I took some seeds from her seed collection as a sort of memento mori. I planted them (they were a plain old Russell’s hybrid), thought “hmm” over two years, but this year they are so incredibly beautiful and sculptured that I can’t believe I’m just discovering them now!

    Like that orange one. Very lovely. Makes a change from the deep purple ones you always see. You know what pairs nicely with it: spotted pulmonaria. Just like Fred and Ginger.

    Like

Comments are closed.