I need something to read

Lately I have been much better at finding time to read novels for myself. I am enjoying this. But I find browsing the fiction shelves at the library somewhat overwhelming. As such I tend to read the entire works of some author just because I have determined that I like her. So I’ve just finished yet another Elizabeth Berg — The Year of Pleasures, which was very good — and I need something new. I’ve enjoyed Sue Monk Kidd, Elizabeth Berg, Marge Piercy, Margaret Atwood, among others. I’ve recently read The Stone Carvers by Jane Urquhart at the recommendation of another homeschooler (partly on the basis that it fit with other things I read; partly because of the WWI things we’d done: the stone in the title is that used to carve the Vimy Memorial).

I know that there are interesting things in Wisteria’s archives but I’ve now tried to find two things she’s read that seemed interesting and neither are in my library.

So fire away. What should I read?

6 thoughts on “I need something to read

  1. I have been on a Susan Vreeland spree lately. Oddly, I have also been totally taken over with children’s fiction. Total escapism!

    Like

  2. I don’t have any book suggestions off the top of my head. But, I do the same thing with authors, if I like their writing I tend to look for more of their writing rather than a try a new author.

    Like

  3. Anything by Barbara Kingsolver is good. I started with The Bean Trees, was immediately hooked, and worked my way through the whole canon. ( I do the same author thing as you). I also like Amy Tan a lot.

    Like

  4. Jeanette Winterson – The Passion
    Geraldine Brooks – Year of Wonders
    Kate Atkinson (author of Behind the Scenes at the Museum) has a new one but I forget the title
    Sara Gruen – Water For Elephants

    Like

  5. I, too, read complete works if they aren’t too predictable. I am a southern writer person, so I have many recommendations in that area (if you’re interested), but I agree that you would love the early Kingsolver, as well as, Prodigal Summer and The Poisonwood Bible.

    Like

Comments are closed.