I became a writer

I became a writer
when I came to Vancouver.
I became a writer
to have something to do.

I started out with stories
(they were NOT about tories).
I started out with stories
about 1880s people.

Then I went to Lucy
(a very pretty girly).
Then I went to Lucy,
a contemporary character.

She sketched into her sketchbook
with pretty sketching pencils.
She sketched into her sketchbook
the week I began to write.

I am still writing these stories
(and shall continue to write them, too)
I am still writing these stories
About Lucy’s art. (and the 1880s, too).

When Tigger went to bed last night (late because we had been out for dinner), she suddenly asked me for a pencil. She said she had a good first line for a poem and wanted to write it down before she went to sleep. It turned into a whole poem.

3 thoughts on “I became a writer

Comments are closed.