drawing with kids

So my meeting went really well. And in the course of chatting to my client, I got some great suggestions for art activities with kids. I’m not sure I can quote him exactly but one thing he said really gave me a new way to think about drawing. Basically, most people have anxiety about drawing because they think it is about accurate representation of the thing you are looking at. But, actually, drawing is about making marks on the page and having confidence in those marks. He compared it to telling stories. If a few of us went to the same event and we were to tell about it later, our stories would all be different but all representations of that event. Drawings work the same way.

With that overall philosophy of drawing in mind, he then made a suggestion of things I could do with those photographs I’ve been taking: stick a cropped photo in the middle of a piece of paper and get Tigger to extend it outwards. The idea is not to produce the context it originally came from but to use the image as the basis for some creative exploration. Any kind of image can work but I suspect to start with it is better to use something not easily identifiable, since the tendency would then be to go for realism.

I’ve got some large sheets of paper and I just might try this. But I thought that it might also be of interest to some of you who are also into the creative side of homeschooling.

One thought on “drawing with kids

  1. See this is why i *really* love homeschooling – creativity can be explored with pretty much no boundaries. no time limits, no scope & sequence, and thus, (this is the really important part) no sense of anyone doing it “wrong”.

    It’s art – there is no wrong. you don;t really teach it; you let the student explore the mediums. You only tech techniques. The rest is up to the student to discover.

    This reminds me of when I taught craft classes and had adults students who were almost paralyzed into doing nothing, for fear of doing it “wrong”. Even on projects that were literally “glue all the pieces together in 15 minutes” and everyone’s looked the same anyway. It was really hard to help them break through that barrier and individualize their work. 😦

    Like

Comments are closed.