On democracy

Since some of the folks I read and who read here are interested in the problems of democracy in the US today, I thought I might point you in the direction of a radio programme that might be of interest. Laurie Taylor is a British broadcaster and sociologist who has a very interesting weekly program on the BBC, Thinking Allowed. I receive e-mail updates about what will be on and this week’s program is an interview with Ronald Dworking about his book Is Democracy Possible Here?. I haven’t listened to the program yet nor read the book but on past performance, I would say that there are many worse ways you could spend an hour.

You have to be quick, though, and listen before next Wednesday because the new show goes up then. There is a link to the broadcast on the page linked above. You will need RealPlayer (but you can download a free version if you don’t have it).

